cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Struggling with my dad

Hi, 

I feel so weird about posting here but I don't have anyone I can really talk to about my struggles.

I'm 25 and still live at home. I am currently studying and about to graduate at the end of this year. I currently don't really have enough money to move out even though I want to. 

I am really struggling with my dad right now. He seems to not understand that the way he acts and the things he says are really hurtful and as much as I try to set boundaries and tell him to stop, he never does. He thinks its funny to make me the butt of every joke he has which makes me feel awful about myself and he loves to annoy me until I react badly and tells me 'its just a joke, lighten up'. He blames me for not making decisions that he can easily make himself. He lords it over me that he pays for the food I eat and the roof over my head and takes ownership over everything even if I payed for it myself. I don't trust him at all really and feel unworthy of pretty much anything. And I hate it cause I don't care what he thinks but somehow I always do. I feel guilty and anxious all the time cause he complains that I don't love him and I don't want to be near him when I am just trying to protect myself from constantly getting hurt. I try to ignore it but it hasn't done anything for the past 5 years, just lower self-esteem every year I get older. It can make me really depressed sometimes too.