cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Studying with schizoaffective/schizophrenia.

Last week I started studying. I'm finding it really hard to cope with even though it's only 3hrs a week. I nearly had a meltdown in class yesterday and it's left me shaking all day. In bad days my illness really gets in the way. I was so confused and muddled and then scared. I couldn't follow what the teacher doing and I got so flustered too. 

I know this happens to other people without a psychotic illness but for me it's really extreme. There's all this other noise in my mind and even though my medication is stopping my voices atm it's not stopping the negative symptoms for me. Last time I studied it wasn't this bad so I'm scared, I'm scared I'm losing my brain and intelligence. 

Also when I try to speak up in class I get all jumbled, stuttered and start confusing myself even more because I can't say what I want, like when I start talking I lose all track of what I'm trying to say. 

I wish I could fix this. I'm scared it's a part of cognitive decline you hear about in schizophrenia and that it will continue to get worse. 

===========================
Trying to make my misery
just a piece of my history
A little less victim a little more victory
-Icon for Hire

Re: Studying with schizoaffective/schizophrenia.

I... I don't know what to say... If I had this illness, I could help better...
But what I can do is say this.
I am here for you, and I know you will get through this.
I may not be a big help, but I'm here to listen.

Hi @redhead I want to say well done on trying to study with this disorder! I know it can be incredibly difficult considering all the cognitive symptoms associated with schizoaffective disorders. I think you're doing the right thing in terms of taking it slow and not putting too much on your plate, 3 hours a week is definitely achievable Smiley Happy