cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

TW: Eating disorder body image hiccups

Hi all!

I am new to ReachOut. I was recently recommended to join after seeing a psychiatrist in the worst depressive episode of my life. Anyway, after getting a new medication, things are looking much better!

I suffered from an eating disorder at the end of 2017. I would have considered myself fully recovered by perhaps the beginning of 2019. However, with some new mental health challenges, I have found myself at various moments heading towards relapse. 

With the recent depressive episode, the lack of exercise has meant I have gained some weight (I don't know this for sure, but can feel it). My psychologist has said to me it is important to embrace your body and its changes, as well as be comfortable with how you look. However, I am feeling sort of confused as to what 'normal exercise' looks like after having an eating disorder. Lots of regular people aspire to look a certain way or perhaps become more toned, however with my eating disorder history, it is tricky to understand for me what is normal, and how to find strength and comfort with an active lifestyle that is mentally healthy. 

Any wisdom/advice/experiences would be greatly appreciated! I am feeling quite conflicted at the moment. 

Thanks!

Highlighted

Re: TW: Eating disorder body image hiccups

Hey @xraychick,

Welcome to ReachOut! It's awesome to see that you are reaching out for support not just in-person, but online as well Smiley Happy
I do agree with your psychologist. It's incredibly important to accept your body as it is and to also accept its changes.
Try not to worry too much about what "normal exercise" looks like, or what "regular people" want to achieve. For example, most people like to go to the gym, however, the idea of going into a gym and people watching me work out really stresses me out, so I've opted to buy a treadmill and just workout at home instead.