cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Terrified of admitting my dream has changed..

I honestly don't know what I am supposed to get from this, I have never done anything like this before, I just for know what else to do. Maybe I am just hoping that I'm not alone in this, that someone else have experienced the same?
I am 20, in my final year of a Bachelor of Biomed and am coming to the realisation that applying for medicine is no longer my dream.
I've spent my whole life working towards this goal, with the belief that once year 12 was over, once I had finally gotten that atar and gotten in, that everything would be ok. Instead I've spent the better part of two and half years struggling through a degree I've come to loathe, watching everyone else get great marks and pull motivation from some magical unlimited source, while I've been almost failing and spend everyday feeling like I'm not good enough. I've realised that the only things I enjoy about Uni are the people, and that maybe I made the wrong choice about what I chose to study.
I've battled with a doctor decided was 'depression and anxiety' the past 18 months, too scared to confide in my friends for the fear or appearing weak, or even undeserving of those feelings. I mean on the outside everything appears great, I have a great family and a lot of friends. I've always been an overachiever, I was school captain and I'm president of our Uni student society and undertaking a highly sort after internship at a huge research lab, so feeling like I do doesn't make sense to me - I can't imagine how anyone else is supposed to understand it. Some days are fine, but others are so dark I can't bring myself to leave the house.