cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

Trying to heal from grief... but it's really hard

Hi there.

It's my first time posting here on RO forums, so I hope that I'm doing this right. 

So I've been bawling my eyes out and feeling really low yesterday because I thought about how I have to go to my GP for a review of the mental health care plan since I just finished my 6th session with my psychologist at headspace. I'm very conflicted because initially I thought that she wasn't a match for me but after talking to my regular counsellor at KHL I realised that I struggled to feel connected with my psych because I wasn't opening up to her since I didn't want to cry and talk about hard things. (Crying over a video call is just weird.) Also, I literally only talk to her about anxiety (since that's what brought me in to see her) but I realised that I might be depressed but I don't know how to go about telling her.

I also mentioned to her twice about the old school counsellor that left last year (when I was in year 11). I felt really connected to the school counsellor (honestly too connected to her to the point where I wished that she was my mum) since my family was going through a rough patch at that time and nobody with there to give me the emotional support that I needed. She told me that she might leave the school a week before the school year ended so I held onto the thought that she wouldn't really leave since she said that "nothing is set in stone yet". Basically she left and I couldn't process the grief from the loss of this relationship. I also discredited the grief that I felt from losing my school counsellor since around the same time our year lost someone unexpectedly (she was in my class) and everyone was really affected and was griefing. But the KHL counsellor said that she knows that my ending of the relationship with the school counsellor was really traumatic for me, so now I'm wondering if it really was.