cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

Tw: Self harm - I don't know how it happened but I self-harmed for the first time

It started when I started feeling overwhelmed when confronted with my mistakes. 

I would feel attacked when I would get bad results no matter how hard I tried.  It was small but it gave me relief. It stung a little and then my emotions evaporated. Apart from a little stinging I was fine. 

I promised myself it wouldn't happen again.

Then I did it again today, my parents reminding me about my bad results and how I was a bad student, made those emotions come back. Then I hurt myself three times in a row. Then after the feelings went away I felt bad. I don't want this to happen again.

It all happened because I am feeling immense academic pressure, I go to a selective school and I have to do at least 6 hours of homework per day (I'm a Year 9) plus study for all my subjects which are at a year 10 - 11 level. I came from a school that had no academic pressure, so I was always getting good marks. I haven't made any friends either so I feel lonely.Ever since I moved to a selective school, I've been feeling hopeless,lost , exhausted and worthless. Because all my life I've tied my self-worth to my academic achievements, my parents always reinforced the idea that if I am not the best I am not good enough. Or maybe it's a misunderstanding. I don't know but I feel guilty for my problems. Though my self harm is in its early stages so hopefully I never do it again. 

Highlighted

Re: Tw: Self harm - I don't know how it happened but I self-harmed for the first time

Hey @Pyrotechnic,