cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

feeling stuck, hopeless and distressed

I have been feeling really crazy lately, and I've just had a really bad night.. Like, not bad as in real life problems, but bad as in invisible illness problems. I don't really know how to explain it properly because I'm not very good with words and I don't know anything, but it's just been really... Existential crisis-ey despair-y depressed, emotional breakdown-y. That's the best I can do I guess. But I'm going through something and it sucks. A lot.

I feel depressed in that my medication doesn't seem to be working, and I had to leave my house today (which was difficult because I have agoraphobia) to see the doctor to be reffered to a psychiatrist, and I'm now overwhelmed with guilt and shame and embarrassment, just like every time I leave my house or speak. I feel like the only way to stop feeling this awful is to stop being awful and I can't do that so I just have to isolate myself completely. 

And I don't know what to do.. I recognise something is going on, and that I need to change it, but I just don't know how. I feel like I should distract myself, with stuff like games, books and colouring in, but then I just feel like I'm running away from my problems and I'm still horrible except now I don't feel horrible. It's like, do I keep destroying myself trying to figure out how to not be so terrible, or do I distract myself and just keep being terrible but not ashamed of how terrible I am, or,, is distracting myself actually a part of dealing with my problems... But how can I get better if I don't even think about it? 

So that's what's going on in my mind right now, and um, I'm sorry this is so long and annoying, I usually try not to talk to people when I feel like this because I feel even more ashamed and embarrassed about it later..

Highlighted

Re: feeling stuck, hopeless and distressed

Hey @neko! woo I am guessing you are a cat person? Smiley Very Happy