cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Main content skiplink
Iona_RO
Star contributor

Evening everyone, and a happy early International Day for People with Disability!

IDPWD 2022 is Saturday December 3rd, but we decided to celebrate early 😎

Special Needs Diversity GIF by Once Upon A Gene

The wonderful Chloe will be chatting to us today about her disability journey, the 'D' word, and tips on how to celebrate your disability with pride!

If this brings up any tough feelings for you, remember you can reach out to :

If you have any questions along the way, or would like to share your experiences, you are very welcome to add your comments here too 😊 Let's get into it!

Iona_RO
Star contributor

Chloe : "My name is Chloe Sargeant (she/they), and I’m a Sydney-based writer and podcaster, and a non-binary person who lives with a dynamic disability. I have a chronic illness called fibromyalgia (a nervous system condition that affects my mobility, cognition, mental health and more – there’s honestly too many to list 😅) when I was 19. It took me years to finally get a diagnosis, and took me even longer to celebrate that I was a person with disability. 

‘Disabled’ seemed like a big, terrifying word that I was scared of using. It took me a fair while, and plenty of work, to get used to the word and finally feel comfortable with using it. But this didn’t happen overnight. After talking to some friends who are also people with disabilities, I decided to try some of their suggestions to figure out how to feel ~at one~ with the ‘D’ word, and find some sense of pride in my identity.

In the last few years, I’ve started regularly using the big scary ‘D’ word. I refer to myself as a disabled* person, and acknowledge and celebrate my disability as a key part of my identity. And I’ve been learning more and more about how to love and celebrate my disability pride ever since. 

Work From Home Pain GIF by Unpopular Cartoonist