cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Main content skiplink
Portia_RO
Star contributor

Happy Thursday lovely folks!

I am incredibly excited to share tonight's Weekly Wellbeing with you all. Our wonderful guest, Chase, has been kind enough to share his lived experience of what school was like for him as someone with autism. While the classroom and playground environment is not always designed with neurodiverse young people in mind, Chase's story shows how making use of your strengths and seeking support when you need it can allow you to achieve great heights. 

Without further ado, here's a little bit more about Chase 🥰

About Chase

"Hi, my name is Chase and I’m 23 years old. My dream is to get into medicine in the next few years. I completed a Bachelor of Biomedical Science last year before taking a gap year. I’m currently a pathology student and a Youth Ambassador for ReachOut.

I have two Italian greyhounds called Otto and Kendra who are father and daughter. I love travelling and going on road trips. I also enjoy volunteering by working with young people, advocating for the LGBTQIA+ community since I am a proud trans man, and helping to reduce the stigma of living with a mental health condition."

Meet Otta and Kendra!Meet Otta and Kendra!

When did you first realise you might be on the autism spectrum? What was this process like for you?

"I was only officially diagnosed with autism two years ago, yet with that being said the collective reaction from family and friends when I told them I was on the spectrum was that they already knew or assumed that I was autistic. The majority of my friends are neurodiverse after all.