cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

I don't think my mom wants me to ever move out.

It's been something I've been testing the waters with for a while now. 

I wouldn't say it seriously but just mention it here and there this thing. 

I am 20 years old right now. 

A Uni Student and there isn't much prospect for money in my subject im studying. 

Also jobs are scarce, but I really think I can nab a job part-time. 

I'm a sort of independent type of person.

But I've been casually mentioning to her that I would like to move out when I become financially stable. 

She wouldn't outright say no but in a round about way she would try to dissuade me. 

My mother is not a clingy person, she is by all means very independent. 

But still it seems every time I slightly bring it up she doesn't want to discuss it.

Like she's avoiding it. 

For a long time i have been a pillar for my family. 

I cook, I clean, I mind my younger siblings and help when I can financially. 

...So eventually I would like to start my own path in life, it's only natural when I hit a certain age that I would like to be self sufficient and no longer use up my parents resources. 

I want to move out at least by the time im 28-27 even though it may not be possible it's something I really want. 

My mother keeps saying it's not pathetic to live with your parents and she brings up this word co-living as an adult with your parents. 

But that's just it.. I don't want to be living with my parents by the time im nearly 30.

I 100% am sure that's something I don't want. 

But she is stubborn on insisting on this co-living life-style.

The truth is, I don't want my parents (I only have a mother no father) and my older sister looking over my shoulder for the rest of my life. 

I want my life to be ONLY mine. 

I want to go out with my friends even if it's late and not have someone worry over me. 

I want to get a job I WANT and not be swayed by my parents decisions 

AND