Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Main content skiplink

Who rated this post

Anonymous
Not applicable

Hey @Dapper_Alpacca 

this may be long post because I’m in the position you’re in right now, or similar. Because of my mental health condition I was always on the verge of crisis or in crisis and have been in and out of hospitals numerous times. Now you can imagine what that would mean for employment. I was never stable enough to hold down a traditional job with regular hours just one day stuff and was once a Christmas casual for David Jones. Whilst battling my mental health I graduated from uni (congrats to you for accomplishing that too!). I studied Social Work (I’d love to know the field you studied) and once I felt stable enough I decided to start the job search. Now let me tell you this- out of 99 jobs there would only be 2 that I actually met the criteria for. My problem was all the entry level social work jobs required a license and I only have my learner’s because I have a huge phobia related to operating a vehicle. I finished uni in 2020 so 2 years I was jobless and dependent on DSP as an income and lucky enough to with my parents so I don’t need to worry about bills and things like that. I understand that isn’t the case for you and it must be so draining and disheartening when your told you didn’t get the position. I’m sorry you’re going through such a difficult time. it was only this year that I discovered a platform called Hireup which is for NDIS members in need of disability support workers. I am employed as a casual worker but to get to this point it took me years after graduation. It’s still not my final destination, I’d like to work in mental health but it’s a stepping stone. 

Here’s a few things to think about:

1. Check what welfare payments you are eligible for with Centrelink like JobSeeker. Also Centrelink has a service called Jobactive which supports you in getting ready to find jobs