cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cultivating and maintaining friendships

Hi Reachout , 

Friends are there to keep company, counsel, comfort, entertain and reassure us. if we are lucky even treat us. 

I'm fortunate to have friends who are inviting and accommodating, listen well.

It's important to appreciate , share, patient and them treat kindly.

But I'm unsure how to maintain them ? 

I'm okay with saying goodbye because how we grow as a people. I find space useful in a platonic relationship.

I usually allow people to do their own thing and I suffered from low self esteem from not feeling seen, notice or desired in my adolescent years.

As an international student I do not have an income so my gestures should be meaningful not based much on monetary value.

I can invite them to gigs , trips and I like share a meal enjoy their company.

Respect their boundaries when their let me in their personal thoughts and vulnerability.

There this voice in my head telling me I need to do something to make them feel good  constantly and desired and my concious say don't force anything or creep and prod  them out unnecessarily.

I'm looking to show I appreciate them in subtle ways in meaningful gestures and take genuine interest in their lives even if we have different interest or upbringings.

I would be satisfied if I understood them on a deeper personal level.

I thought of call them to ask how their doing but would like to be considerate and make it worth their time when I do show up.

I don't think I have a full understanding  of relationships if I'm being honest. It's like surfing when there is wave you play and when their isn't you play football or something else.

High school was an artificial experience for me and confusing.

Give me a few ways to develop my friendships in organic mutually pleasurable and thoughtful ways.