cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ditched by best friends?

I am a female Engineer in my mid-twenties working in the Engineering department of a mid-sized company. Within my department, there are two other girls around my age that I would consider to be my close friends. We are close at work, but our friendship also extends outside of work (one girl was in my wedding and both attended my bachelorette trip, to put our friendship in perspective). Lately I have been feeling as if I’m becoming something of a third wheel within the group. It always seems that the other two are on the same wavelength and I’m the odd girl out in any given situation. I feel petty and childish even thinking this way, so I’ve kept my feelings to myself up to this point.

Last week our company hosted a function over lunch--something that my two work besties and I would typically attend as a group. We had even discussed the lunch earlier in the day. Shortly before the lunch was scheduled to begin, one of the girls brought up to me that something came up at home and she was going to skip the lunch and go home for her break.  I said I hoped everything was okay, but I didn’t give it much thought beyond that, assuming that my other friend and I would still attend the company lunch. When it was time to go, however, I stopped at my friend’s cubicle to see if she was ready and found that she was gone. When I returned to my desk (my office overlooks the parking lot) I saw my two friends driving away together. I later learned that they went to a workout class that they both often attend.

Now, here is where I become conflicted…