cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

Feeling down all the time

Hey,

I am a university student, currently studying my first year. I am staying with my boyfriend and we are comfortable with each other. The problem is that, we often feel down. It is not about any relationship problems, because we often have deep conversations and both of us are certain that we love each other and we want to have a life together. But the thing is that we hate what we are doing now, we love the outdoor, we always talks about having adventures. However, university assignments tied us down. I am studying Psychology and he is studying Pharmacology in a different university.

I am an Asian girl so I can't choose what I want in life. I am forced to study something I hate, because my parents wants me to be successful. I hate that I can't choose what I want in life. My parents and I are not close, I rarely see my father as a child as he work in another country and he dislike children. In addition, my mother have mutiple affairs so she would often go out on dates and neglect me and my sibling. I was never happy when I was with my family as they are arrogant. My mother love to bloast about my father's job, and she love indulging in luxuries. I often try talking to my parents in hope that we will form a bond. However, after many futile efforts, I gave up.

I always wanted to do volunteer work such as buliding houses and schools. I want to help organisations like Greenpeace, World Wildlife Fund to protect the environment and the animals. However, my parents wouldn't let me. They believed that those activities are unworthy. My boyfriend encourage me to give it a try. My boyfriend love the miltary and however, he is unable to join the army because my parents wouldn't let me be with anyone who is not successful. Hence, he is also forced to study. I feel bad because of my parents, my boyfriend can't do something he wants.