cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

My partner has a long term illness and I can't cope.

We have been together for 15 years. When she was a child my wife, Jayne, suffered appalling sexual abuse and now has a lot of illnesses that I am convinced are a direct result of this. She is an 18 years sober alcoholic, as am I (we met in AA), and she suffered from Fibromyalgia, Parkinson's, and a few other painful conditions. She has been ill for about 10 years now and I am her full time carer.

For a long time I managed but now I am finding it increasingly harder to cope. I don't get any sleep, just about every interest or passion of mine - I am a professesional standard musician but I no longer have the reserves to play - is gone. I feel that life isn't worth living anymore.

what do I do? There is no family to turn to. Help. Please. I am lost.

Harry

Highlighted

Re: My partner has a long term illness and I can't cope.

First off - have you talked to your wife about this? This sounds like definitely the kind of thing you should discuss. If you do talk to her about it, make sure to use language that doesnt direct the blame towards her or her illnesses, and use lots of 'i feel' statements. Assure her its not her fault and you love her, but you're just having some trouble. She might be able to help! 

Have you ever considered hiring another carer? Of course this entirely depends on your financial situation. But having a professional come by and help you out might free you up a bit and take some of the stress off. 

Otherwise, try to scheldule some down time for yourself. Kind of force yourself to do something you love, even if its for a couple of hours. This could be music, or reading, anything. Again, tell your wife this. Remember, unless you look after yourself , you cannot look after others - the number one rule of self care. Here's some more info for you to check out

How are you feeling at the moment?

Highlighted