cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Not really sure what's up but I think it's loneliness.

Hey there

I'm a first year uni student just finished high school last year. Year 12 was arguably the greatest year of my life I can remember (I'd started a brand new school and had made an amazing group of friends). I was always worried about losing some of them, but at least while uni was still on I could see some of them between classes and for lunch etc. Since going online I've barely seen anyone, only seeing my closets friends one or twice in three months. My other friends seem to be staying in contact reasonably well and a lot of them live fairly close to each other. I just feel so isolated and am so bad at making friends I'm worried I'll be alone for a while. Any ideas on how to curb this growing loneliness or how to help me make new friends? If you feel like having a chat, reply if you like?

Re: Not really sure what's up but I think it's loneliness.

Hi @Izzy2001! Welcome to the forums!
I think that getting through Year 12 is an amazing achievement. Smiley Happy I'm so sorry you've been struggling with loneliness with having to social distance and uni classes being moved online though. Are any uni groups having online meetups?
I think a time like this can make you re-evaluate your friendships for the better or worse. It could be an opportunity to make new friends if you're open to doing so. I don't have much of a social life, but I've been able to make a lot of friends through volunteering, finding causes I'm passionate about and online chats and events. Would either of them be helpful for you?
We also have an article on the ReachOut website about strategies that you can use to cope with loneliness.

Hey there. Thanks for replying Smiley Happy) even that makes me feel less lonely haha