cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Shift work and working away from home

Hi everyone,

new here and haven’t posted before, but hoping there’s someone in a similar situation or that can offer any advice. 

Long story short i do shift work as a truck driver, I currently work 6 hours from home and live in town where I work and travel home in my days off. I’ve been here for 6 months and it’s been fine but lately I’m just not coping with the isolation or my job. 

I love my job and usually thrive but this past week ive had trouble sleeping, being unmotivated for work, constantly being anxious and thinking people I work with have something against me, irritated and annoyed at almost everything and generally not wanting to be here (at work) plus feeling absolutely shit about myself as I’ve gained weight since working away. 

Ive never struggled with mental health and haven’t ever had to seek help, not because I don’t choose to but because I’ve never had any of these feelings before to a point that isn’t normal once off feelings regarding work etc or life. Usually I bounce back and I have coping methods in place but lately I just can’t shake these feelings or thoughts. 

Ive tried taking time off but as soon as I’m back at work I’m feeling the same way. When I’m home around family and friends I tend not to feel like this although the irritability and moodiness is still around just not as bad. 

Any other shift workers or people working in a rural place away from home that can offer some advice? Feeling very alone and more isolated then usual 

Re: Shift work and working away from home