nukapop92
Visitor

i like this post

nbaever3
Rookie scribe

this is really very good article, thank you for sharing

WheresMySquishy
Uber contributor

Thanks for this anazing respurce @Janine-RO and Moneysmart!

I love the links.

Does anyone have any favourite systems for budgeting or managing finances?

I've heard about cash envelope systems and making managing finances as part of a game to make people feel more motivated to save.

I've heard of that system too @WheresMySquishy but I feel like I'd forget where I put all the envelopes lol 

I'm no expert but some of my tips are: 

• Have a separate account for spending, savings and bills. Split your money up into the accounts when you get paid - or set up direct debits so you don't have to keep track of it. 
  • Be very realistic about your spending and jot down all your expenses. Think of everything from upcoming birthdays, your daily coffee and haircuts. Budgeting for self-care is a good habit to get into 🙂 
  • I plan for bills by estimating the yearly cost of my electricity, phone, gas, water, internet, car expenses, insurances, subscriptions. Divide the total amount by 12 and you'll see how much you need to debit into your bills account each month. 

I love your tips Bre, especially the one about writing down expenses. I also used to write down aome expenses in a table to help me remember them.

Also, sorry about the typos in my post. For some reason, I can't edit it.

Haha @Bre-RO  I totally hear you re the envelopes 😅 When we started giving my eldest pocket money, we gave her 3 jars: one for spend, one for saving, and one for donating to charity. Pretty sure it may be an idea my partner got from the Barefoot Investor - I really like how it introduces kids to the idea really early that your money can have different 'jobs'.