cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

TW: Unsure how to face my intense feelings and personal flaws

Hi there,

I'm a 20 year old male living in Queensland. I have always struggled with self-worth and my emotions because they have never been my ally. Running away through substance abuse and binge eating had always helped me in my time of need to feel good and I took every opportunity I could to change my 'unbearable' feelings. I would like to share my feelings with you guys so I can feel more understood and get things out. This is my first time sharing on a forum and whilst I feel I have adequate words to describe my feelings, some terms I use may seem a bit vague.

As a child, I grew up being a compulsive liar and that habit is still with me today, my parents divorced when I was 5/6 years old and both my parents moved up the coast from New South Wales. As a young child, I often enjoyed being with my mother more as she was more relaxed and her house was more comforting to me although I used to have distress when I would have to go to my father's house. I spent weekends with my father. My father was not physically abusive but I was always scared of my father because of his quick knee-jerk reactions and the outburst that he could have. I always saw my father as a scary man, I felt intimidated and I would actively count down the hours until I would see my mother was a common thing. I would get anxious to leave my father's and go to my mother's and that cycle would repeat every week for years. I never felt secure with my dad as a child and I believe that some of my struggles arise from these times. I would make mistakes, I would lie, I wouldn't do something the 'right' way and my father would yell and get angry at me, yell at me, pick me up and shake me sometimes and then when he had calmed down, everything would be fine.