cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

Uni stress and covid 19

I guess I am writing this to see if anyone is in the same boat, and if they're experiencing the same feelings I am currently feeling. Or pressures.

I graduated high school in 2016, then completed a Fine Art Bachelor's degree in 2019 (I loved this degree, I even did a study tour to Italy for two weeks! And made some really great friends and the uni had a fantastic community. However this degree offers very slim chances of a full time salary career). Everyone and myself is asking 'ok so what are you going to do with your life?' Hence, in 2020 I enrolled into a Masters of Secondary teaching full time to be a visual arts teacher (the best thing I could use my fine arts degree for). 

I had a calendar with all my assignment due dates and prac, and was nervous but keen to get a start on achieving a career. I only got 3 weeks into my degree before COVID 19 made closure of the university and transferred all study to online and prac was cancelled. I also lost my casual job, due to loss of trade, which I had been at for 3 years.

I was devastated. My workplace was my social life. And I was left feeling so sad, that all I did was cry. I ended up behind on weekly online tutorials and homework and couldn't find the motivation to do any uni work.

And not to mention, I hadn't even had the opportunity to make real connections at my new degree, I am 21 and the majority of students are much older and mature aged- which I find intimidating for this degree.