cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Psych Students Support Thread

Hey @jesseka_grace, I'm not sure if you've already seen this on Volunteering QLD but there's the Group61 mental health befriending program. Otherwise if you live in the Sunshine Coast there's the Vinnies Compeer Friendship Program. I haven't participated in either of these programs but they do sound interesting!

Hey everyone!

I graduated from my Honours in Psychology in 2015, so I feel like I can give a decent amount of advice on this topic. ☺️ (soz if this gets a bit long) 

First off, in regards to Masters, entry into the courses are INCREDIBLY competitive (especially Clinical), with the majority of candidates already having had years of experience. That said, if you don't get in straight away, don't be disheartened! There's plenty of ways to build up your experience.

I've actually done the Compeer Friendship Program myself and found it very rewarding. Essentially, you're paired up with someone who is dealing with a mental illness (usually someone experiencing depression/anxiety/schizophrenia) and you hang out with them as a friend for an hour a week on average and help them out when needed. It starts off as a year-long commitment and also have the opportunity to continue (if my memory serves correctly, Compeer's longest friendship is over 20 years!) They'll give you training, including a short suicide prevention gatekeeper course, as well as ensuring your partnered friend is compatible with you. ☺️

Another program I did with Vinnies was the Bright Sparks program where you go to a school with children from refugee backgrounds and teach them English and about Australia. Not sure if it's available outside of Sydney though 😐 however, if kids are your thing, I can also suggest doing ABA therapy for children on the spectrum! It's a challenging gig, but it's very valuable experience.