cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

I need help with my addictions

Hi. I am a first time poster. I have recently turned 22 years old.

Over the past 6 months I have been taking drugs and drinking most weekends - usually certain kinds, but only ever after i have been drinking (which impairs my decision making). I am a 4th year university student and to be honest these habits are not affecting my studies. I work 2 jobs to support myself. 

I have had a gambling addiction before, and often still gamble (but only small amounts). I have also nearly lost my girlfriend over this recently, as she does not trust me anymore. 

I want to get better, and i want to help myself. I want to kick these addictions out and learn to have fun without alcohol, drugs or gambling. I am looking for advice from anyone on here as to what i can / should do. I am completely ashamed of myself, and i really do not want to lose relationships, such as my girlfriend, due to these habits. I believe I can change, and i really want to change.

Thanking you in advance.

Highlighted

Re: I need help with my addictions

Hey @YoungBuck and welcome to the forums! Smiley Happy

First of all I want to say that it seems like you have a lot of self-awareness and it's really great that you've taken a step towards addressing the behaviors which you can see might be problematic by asking for help - well done! 

I'm wondering if you've ever spoken to a mental health professional about this, or if that's something you might consider?

P.S. Just letting you know that I have edited your post to remove the names of specific drugs, because that information could be tricky for other users. You're welcome to read more about this in our community guidelines Smiley Happy  

// Spiral outward, keep going. //
Highlighted

Hi @YoungBuck, welcome to the forums!