cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

mum troubles

Hey everyone,

I'm super new here and have decided to try get some things off of my chest. Basically my mother says some things that make me feel like a terrible piece of nothing, it didn't used to be that often, just when we fought, now though she just snaps at the littlest things. I have a learning disorder, anxiety and depression so it is difficult for me at the best of times to understand things and as soon as i don't she just starts swearing and yelling. I am wanting to move away from home for uni next year and she has me convinced that I will be dead within a day without her, I know that this isn't true but I am so scared to leave. I have been seeing a phycologist for years about various things and every time i bring something up they connect it back to something she has said/ done. She has never really physically attacked me but I am in my final year at school and have enough stress without continuously questioning every single thought that passes through my head to see if it is toxic. It's already hard enough to do anything for school when I'd just rather not exist. So i guess my question and worry is - is this a form emotional abuse because I never even thought about it until my therapist said something? Also, she is very controlling - not letting me have my phone in an private space without permission and only at day time then, reading my messages and stuff so I have to talk to my friends in person whenever I need to vent - is this normal??

Thank you ❤️

Re: mum troubles

Hey welcome to ReachOut @utterly

I'm sorry your having issues with your mum, it does sound really hard. 

There's a really cool service called 1800 RESPECT, they offer counselling and support for people experiencing abuse or just questioning it, you can check them out Here

Is there a way you could talk to your mum about how she is affecting you. 

===========================
Trying to make my misery