cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Confused, directionless...

I'm in my early 20's and I am a uni student, I just moved out of home to student accomodation and I happen to have schizophrenia, although not many people know about that. I am studying a double degree and can't decide what to do with my life. I am doing arts and science, and sometimes I feel like my mind can't focus enough or grasp complex situations that arise in my science classes. I've had this trouble for a couple of years now since I had a major psychotic episode in 2011. I feel like a failure if I drop the science component of my degree, it's something I am doing just to prove to those around me that I can actually do it. I don't know what to do for a job, I feel trapped at uni, like I am just wasting time. I don't know if I should drop out, it's something I have been asking myself since I first started uni last year. On the other hand, I had to leave my casual job because I kept making mistakes and had trouble remembering simple tasks because of my transient psychotic symptoms that arise due to my schizophrenia.

I had to move out because my parents are divorced and I felt pressured to be 'an adult'. I have been with my boyfriend for 5 years but he is still not ready to move in with me, so that's how I ended up in student accomodation. I feel confused, directionless, and like there is no joy in my life at uni. I guess I can't see a future for myself anymore. People keep telling me at the end of my degree I should become a high school teacher, but I don't feel like my mind can handle the pressure because I still have schizophrenic symptoms although I try and hide them from everyone except from my mum and boyfriend.

I don't know what to do with my life...I know this is something a lot of young people go through, but it feels so bad and I feel like my options are limited because of my mental health issues.

Thanks for reading this.

Re: Confused, directionless...