cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

I feel terrible about my own identity.

Hi I'm BunnyWalks .

I'm a malay- Muslim from Malaysia. I've been an international student for a while now.

I've had difficulty in putting myself out there.

It's been hard making friends in Australia hence I feel isolated with the problems I've faced.

Last year I fell into depression about my islamic identity because that's how I've been raised formally. Personally I'm not too sure what my beliefs are at the moment. I feel like it is the source of problems such as my parent fighting , me being relatable, afraid that people might distance themselves from me and the list goes on.

I've been handed a flyer by the reclaim Australia movement about the band on Muslim immigration which left me rather uneasy. So I feel very threaten in this society. I'm not religious my self but I cant seem to shrug my self off the experience that connected to my identity such as bullying.

Right now im just looking for an ear . So anyone interested reply this thread ?
Highlighted

Re: I feel terrible about my own identity.

I felt depressed to the point of self harm and this made it difficulty for me to perform my duties in university.
Highlighted

Hi @BunnyWalks... Welcome to ReachOut! Thanks for sharing your experiences- It's really courageous of you. Do go over to our "Hang out" forums and connect/get to know the community here... Try this link:

http://forums.au.reachout.com/t5/Hanging-out/Introduce-Yourself-Here-February-2017/m-p/224068#U22406...

It makes sense why that flyer would have bought up a lot of emotions for you. It can be very overwhelming and scary. It would be great for you to check out what type of groups and clubs your university has. There might be a group there you would like to join to meet people and make friends? There may even be an Islamic society, if that makes you feel comfortable to start with.