cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I almost had a car accident as a learner driver

So on my way to work driving with my dad as a learner driver, I decided to play music with my phone since the radio wasn’t playing any music. I started a song before I started driving but when that song ended I got my dad to change it to another song, knowing that your not meant to use your phone as a driver in the car. But as I was trying to help him figure it out, I took my eyes off the road for a second and as I looked up I had almost driven into ongoing traffic on the other side of the road. Naturally my dad lost it and yelled at me saying it was his fault not keeping a look out and we sat in silence for the rest of the ride. What worried me the most about this incident was that after it, I wasn’t even shocked or scared at the fact I almost crashed and potentially got seriously hurt and put my dad in danger, I was so frustrated at myself but it was almost forced as I didn’t want to make that mistake again, and I wanted to be scared or shocked to ensure that I will never do it again. But i’m just worried as almost crashing like that didn’t effect me as much as it should have. I’m worried I’ll never be able to get my P’s and I’m worried I’ll do something stupid like that again. If learner drivers are meant to be the safest on the road how am I meant to pass my drivers test and be a driver once I get my hours up. I don’t know if any of this makes sense but I guess I’m just looking for fellow young drivers that may have done something similar.

Re: I almost had a car accident as a learner driver

@anonymousgirl101 You are learning and with each mistake you learn something, whether thats something not to or what to do. When I was a learner I had multiple incidents like yours, I did that L2P program so a volunteer sat with me for a lot of my hours, yeah.... didnt take long for one to be scared and palm me off to someone else HAHA oops